What does fact checked mean?
At Healthfully, we strive to deliver objective content that is accurate and up-to-date. Our team periodically reviews articles in order to ensure content quality. The sources cited below consist of evidence from peer-reviewed journals, prominent medical organizations, academic associations, and government data.
The information contained on this site is for informational purposes only, and should not be used as a substitute for the advice of a professional health care provider. Please check with the appropriate physician regarding health questions and concerns. Although we strive to deliver accurate and up-to-date information, no guarantee to that effect is made.
Does Malt Extract Contain Gluten?
Malt extract is a common addition and flavoring agent to processed foods. The extract is usually made from barley, a grain that contains gluten 1. Rye and wheat also contain gluten 2. For people who have gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, avoiding most or all gluten in food is very important to maintain health and avoid life-threatening complications.
Gluten Content of Malt Extract
Malt extracts contain a varying amount of gluten depending on the type of extract. Some gluten-free food products may still legally use malt extract as an ingredient. According to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, these products can legally be labeled "gluten-free" as long as the gluten concentration in the final product does not exceed 20 parts per million, which is the lowest consistently detectable level of gluten 2.
The extract is usually made from barley, a grain that contains gluten. The extract is usually made from barley, a grain that contains gluten. Some gluten-free food products may still legally use malt extract as an ingredient.
- aaron007/iStock/Getty Images