23 August, 2011
What does fact checked mean?
At Healthfully, we strive to deliver objective content that is accurate and up-to-date. Our team periodically reviews articles in order to ensure content quality. The sources cited below consist of evidence from peer-reviewed journals, prominent medical organizations, academic associations, and government data.
The information contained on this site is for informational purposes only, and should not be used as a substitute for the advice of a professional health care provider. Please check with the appropriate physician regarding health questions and concerns. Although we strive to deliver accurate and up-to-date information, no guarantee to that effect is made.
Does Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Contain Gluten?
Celiac disease, with bloating, diarrhea, weight loss and skin inflammation, affects one in 133 Americans, according to the National Digestive Disease Information Clearinghouse. Going gluten-free is the only treatment for this condition. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. Eliminating these grains from your diet is an effective way to find out whether gluten is behind your symptoms. Oats may be a safe alternative.
Oats and Gluten
Oats by themselves do not contain gluten, but they may become contaminated with gluten during processing, explains the National Digestive Disease Information Clearinghouse. Look for the Certified Gluten-Free seal on your oats label, a program launched in 2013 by the Gluten-Free Certification Program and the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness. Most people with celiac disease can tolerate small amounts of oats. Work with your health care provider to determine whether oats are safe for you to eat.
- Sally Scott/iStock/Getty Images