var googletag = googletag || {}; googletag.cmd = googletag.cmd || [];

Ranking System of Krav Maga

By Vanessa Arellano Doctor

Krav Maga is a popular method of self-defense that can be used by both military combatants and average civilians. The ranking system that indicates the current level and expertise of a fighter is marked by belt color.

Five Practitioner Levels

KM level 1 is the yellow belt curriculum, or the first phase for beginners. The yellow belt test comes after four months of training. An orange belt test is done after six months, a green belt after nine and a blue belt nine months after that. After one year of training and testing, the student can be up for a brown belt. Members progress through the ranking system at different paces. The black belt and higher levels are only available by invitation after the student has held a brown belt for at least one full year.

Graduate Levels

The majority of Krav Maga instructors are in the "G" level. The Fighter and Warrior diplomas within the G1 to G5 levels are for people working in law enforcement, security and the military, according to Krav Maga Global.

Expert and Master Levels

The expert levels focus on advanced military techniques and third party protection principles. Many in the expert levels are instructors in military and law enforcement. Those who reach the final stages only do so upon invitation, according to the Krav Maga Federation.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by LIVESTRONG
Brought to you by LIVESTRONG

More Related Articles

Related Articles