var googletag = googletag || {}; googletag.cmd = googletag.cmd || [];

Gluten Free Diet Pills

By Michelle Zehr

According to a poll by CBS News, 45 million American start a diet each year and spend 1 to 2 billion dollars each year on weight loss programs. The gluten-free diet is one diet that has garnered attention as a weight loss method beyond treating those who have celiac disease, or an allergic reaction to wheat. Dieters also have the option of using gluten-free diet pills.


A gluten-free diet is defined as a diet that excludes the protein gluten, found in a majority of grains including wheat, barley and rye, according to Mayo Celiac disease creates inflammation in the small intestines, so eliminating gluten from a patient's diet can help control the symptoms and prevent complications from the disease.

Foods to Avoid

People on a gluten-free diet should avoid foods and drinks containing barley, bulgur, durham, farina, graham flour, kamut, matzo meals, rye, semolina, spelt, triticale and wheat. Also avoid foods made with corn, rice and soy unless they are labeled as gluten-free. Many vitamins and supplements also contain gluten as an ingredient. According to a report by U.S. News and World Today, the availability of gluten-free products continues to increase, so those on a gluten-free diet now have more choices for food and medicine products than in past years.

Diet Benefits

Adhering to a gluten-free diet can also have an effect on weight loss. Those adhering to a gluten-free diet must avoid beer, pizza, candies, cakes, dies, cookies, and other fattening, high-calorie foods. A gluten-free diet helps to eliminate refined flour and sugars, which will improve health as well as aid with weight loss. Dieters should also look for diet pills that don't contain gluten in order to remain true to a gluten-free diet.

Gluten-Free Diet Pills

Adhering to a gluten-free diet requires paying special attention to ingredients; diet pill ingredients are no exception. When looking for a gluten-free diet pill, make sure the ingredients on the bottle are pure. Pure ingredients will ensure that the supplement is gluten-free. Avoid diet pills that contain fillers. The label should read "100% pure." Additionally, ensure that the label says "gluten-free." If the label does not specially state gluten free, there is a possibility that the diet pill may contain even the smallest traces of gluten. When it doubt, avoid purchasing or using a product. Additionally, many manufacturers provide customers with information on a product when requested.


According to the US. World and News report, 1 percent of individuals use gluten-free diet pills and follow a gluten-free diet as the result of celiac disease. However, many others are following this diet as a fad. Always consult with your doctor before beginning a gluten-free diet to ensure you are receiving the appropriate amounts of vitamins and nutrients. According to, those on a gluten-free diet are likely to be lacking iron, calcium, fiber, thiamin, riboflavin, niacin and folate.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by LIVESTRONG

More Related Articles

Related Articles