→ Start healthfully with our BMI Weight Loss Calculator

Can You Have Sugar & Salt in a Gluten Free Diet?

By Tarynne Mingione

Sugar and salt do not naturally contain gluten, and can be included in a gluten-free diet. A gluten-free diet strictly excludes gluten in all of its obvious and disguised forms. Gluten is a protein found naturally in wheat, rye and barley. Guidelines for sugar and salt are the same for diets without restrictions as diets excluding gluten.

Salt

Salt, although produced via various methods (solar, evaporation, and rock mining), does not contain gluten. Whether on a gluten containing diet or not, the recommended intake remains the same. The 2010 Dietary Guidelines recommend consuming no more than 2,300 milligrams of sodium daily. For anyone aged 51 years and older, and for populations with specific conditions such as hypertension, chronic kidney disease and diabetes, recommendations suggest an intake less than 1,500 milligrams daily.

Sugar

Sugar is produced from sugar cane or sugar beets, both of which do not contain gluten and the processing doesn’t introduce gluten to the final product. While sugar appears naturally in fruit (fructose), and milk (lactose), the guidelines for sugar remain the same for gluten-filled and gluten-free diets. Dietary Guidelines recommend limiting intake of foods with added sugars, as added sugars in foods contribute calories without providing any nutritional value.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by LIVESTRONG
Brought to you by LIVESTRONG

More Related Articles

Related Articles