What does fact checked mean?
At Healthfully, we strive to deliver objective content that is accurate and up-to-date. Our team periodically reviews articles in order to ensure content quality. The sources cited below consist of evidence from peer-reviewed journals, prominent medical organizations, academic associations, and government data.
The information contained on this site is for informational purposes only, and should not be used as a substitute for the advice of a professional health care provider. Please check with the appropriate physician regarding health questions and concerns. Although we strive to deliver accurate and up-to-date information, no guarantee to that effect is made.
If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, your body is unable to properly digest gluten, a protein in wheat and some other grains. If this is the case, consuming gluten can result in diarrhea, cramping and bloating -- and you may have to follow a gluten-free diet to remain symptom-free. Understanding which foods contain gluten can help you know what you can and cannot eat.
Choose Gluten-Free Grains
Wheat is forbidden on a gluten-free diet because it contains gluten. You cannot eat wheat products such as white or wheat bread, pretzels, pasta or wheat-containing breakfast cereals. Other gluten-containing grains to avoid include:
You can use nut and soy flours as alternatives to wheat flour if you are baking.
Know Which Foods Are Naturally Gluten-Free
GenoType Diet Food List
You can have most products that do not contain grains. A gluten-free diet allows all fresh fruits and vegetables and all frozen and canned fruits and vegetables as long as they contain no sauce. Breaded vegetables are off-limits, according to New York University Langone Medical Center 1. Nuts and peanuts are naturally gluten-free as well. Avoid breaded meats, poultry and fish.
- You can have most products that do not contain grains.
- A gluten-free diet allows all fresh fruits and vegetables and all frozen and canned fruits and vegetables as long as they contain no sauce.
Watch for Unexpected Gluten-Containing Foods
Some foods, such as sauces and marinades, can unexpectedly contain small amounts of gluten. NYU Langone Medical Center warns that you need to avoid teriyaki sauce, soy sauce and malt vinegar on a gluten-free diet 1. Many meat marinades and fruits in thickened sauces contain gluten. Use gluten-free foods instead to flavor your foods. You can have mustard, herbs and other vinegars on a gluten-free diet. Beer and some nondairy beverages, such as soy and rice milk, have gluten, but you can have distilled alcohol.
- Some foods, such as sauces and marinades, can unexpectedly contain small amounts of gluten.
- You can have mustard, herbs and other vinegars on a gluten-free diet.
List of Wheat-Free Foods
Some foods, such as yogurt and oats, are unlikely to contain gluten, but they may. Only consume varieties of such products if their labels claim that they are free of gluten. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration regulates labeling claims for the food industry and sets strict standards on when foods may carry gluten-free labels. Some people choose to follow a gluten-free diet before being diagnosed with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, but NYU Langone Medical Center explains that clinical researchers have not uncovered any benefits to doing this 1.
- Some foods, such as yogurt and oats, are unlikely to contain gluten, but they may.
- Only consume varieties of such products if their labels claim that they are free of gluten.
GenoType Diet Food List
List of Wheat-Free Foods
Foods With No Vitamin K
List of Foods With No Fructose Corn Syrup
Gluten Foods to Avoid for Hashimoto's
What Foods Can I Eat on a Low-Fiber Diet?
What Foods Not to Eat to Avoid High Potassium Levels
Does the Candida Diet Allow Whole Grain Bread?
Hunt's Tomato Ketchup: Gluten-Free Information
Can You Eat Grains if You Have Wheat Allergies?
- New York University Langone Medical Center: Gluten-Free Diet
- Celiac Disease Foundation. Testing.
- Saturni L, Ferretti G, Bacchetti T. The gluten-free diet: safety and nutritional quality. Nutrients. 2010;2(1):16-34. doi:10.3390/nu2010016
- Dewar DH, Donnelly SC, Mclaughlin SD, Johnson MW, Ellis HJ, Ciclitira PJ. Celiac disease: management of persistent symptoms in patients on a gluten-free diet. World J Gastroenterol. 2012;18(12):1348-56. doi:10.3748/wjg.v18.i12.1348
- National Institute of Digestive and Diabetes and Kidney Disease. Celiac Disease.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Gluten-Free Labeling of Food.
Natalie Stein specializes in weight loss and sports nutrition. She is based in Los Angeles and is an assistant professor with the Program for Public Health at Michigan State University. Stein holds a master of science degree in nutrition and a master of public health degree from Michigan State University.