var googletag = googletag || {}; googletag.cmd = googletag.cmd || [];

Medical Diagnosis Code List

By Carole Anne Tomlinson ; Updated June 13, 2017

The International Classification of Diseases or ICD-10 (the 10th revision of the codes) is the list of codes doctors use in their diagnosis of all ailments. These codes cover every disease and condition already classified. The new code, ICD-10, was established in 2007 and differs from previous versions by adding letters to the numbers of the codes. Here are some of the codes used.


The codes are broken up first in large groups, then specific ailments. For example, A00 to B99 covers types of diseases caused by infections and parasites. This then is further broken down so that A00 is cholera, A00.0 is classical cholera, A00.1 is cholera eltor and A00.9 is unspecified types of cholera. Then A01 is for typhoid fever with further breakdowns. The category also includes infections from salmonella (A02), bacterial infections of the intestines (A04), viral infections in the intestines (A08) and diarrhea assumed to be caused by infection. A15 to A19 covers the variations of tuberculosis. B20 covers human immunodeficiency virus (HIV).


Blood diseases are covered in the ICD-10 and include anaemias (D50 to D53) caused by nutritional problems, and anaemias (D55 to D59) caused by enzyme disorders, sickle-cell disorders and hereditary factors. The section from D65 to D69 covers blood coagulation problems such as haemophilia, Van Willebrand’s disease and haemorrhagic problems.


This category focuses on aspects of mental problems. F00, for example, is used for people who have Alzheimer’s disease who are suffering from dementia. This is further broken down into F00.0 for early onset Alzheimer’s, F00.1 for late onset dementia, F00.2 for non-typical dementia and F00.9 for unspecified dementia. F01 includes dementia produced by vascular disease. F04 focuses on organic amnesic syndrome. F20 is the code used for schizophrenia and F22 is used for delusional disorders. F70 to F79 are the codes for varying degrees of mental retardation.


Problems with pregnancy, childbirth and puerperium (the period just after birth) are covered in this section. For example, O80 to O84 focus on delivery of the baby in which the baby dies. Sections O85 to O92 pertain to problems during puerperium such as puerperal sepsis and infections such as vaginitis and obstetric embolisms.

U00 to U99

The last section of the ICD-10 codes is used for two purposes. The first, for U00 to U49, have been set aside for new diseases. For example, U04 has been specified for SARS (severe acute respiratory syndrome. U80 to U89 have been designated for bacteria that resist antibiotics.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by LIVESTRONG

More Related Articles

Related Articles