Colleges With Baseball Programs in Colorado

By Kurt Schrader

As of June 2010, eight collegiate baseball programs exist at four-year colleges and universities in the state of Colorado. Of these, two compete in NCAA Division I, the University of Northern Colorado and the U.S. Air Force Academy. The remaining six Colorado schools participate in NCAA Division II: Colorado Christian University, Colorado School of Mines, Colorado State University-Pueblo, Mesa State College, Metropolitain State College and Regis University.

University of Northern Colorado

The NCAA Division I Bears of the University of Northern Colorado have called historic Jackson Field in Greeley home since the 1920s. The field was host to one of the biggest wins in school history in 1974. In a stunning upset, the Bears won back-to-back games over the top-ranked Arizona Wildcats to win the Regional NCAA playoff series. This series victory led them to their 10th and most recent College World Series appearance. Seven Northern Colorado players have gone on to play in the Major Leagues, the most recent being pitcher Mike Trujillo, active from 1985-1989.

University of Northern Colorado Athletics

208 Butler-Hancock Athletic Center

Box 117

Greeley, CO 80639


United States Air Force Academy

The Falcons of the United States Air Force Academy began intercollegiate baseball play in 1957 going 6-9 under the direction of Captain Glenn Mackie. The Falcons would quickly find success, advancing to their first NCAA post-season in 1961. They would continue this upswing throughout the 1960s with additional post-season appearances in 1962, 1964, 1966, 1967 and 1968. This early success was, unfortunately, not sustained and 1968 was their last post-season appearance. The Falcons record has been progressively poorer for each decade after the 1960’s.

United States Air Force Academy Athletics Department

2169 Field House Drive

U.S. Air Force Academy, CO 80840-9500


Mesa State College

The Mavericks of Mesa State College play their home games at the 10,000-seat Suplizio Field, considered to be one of the top collegiate baseball facilities in the country. Consistently successful, the Mavericks completed their 29th consecutive winning season in 2010. In 2009, Mesa State had one of its finest seasons, finishing with a 44-15 record and making its first trip to the Division II College World Series. Six Mavericks have gone on to play Major League Baseball including current, as of 2010, major leaguer Brendan Donnely, and Randy Ready who had a 12-year major league career from 1983 to 1995.

Mesa State College Athletics

1100 North Avenue

Grand Junction, CO 81501


Colorado State University-Pueblo

The Colorado State-Pueblo ThunderWolves restarted their baseball program in 1994 after the program was disbanded in 1985. They quickly re-established themselves as one of the top programs in the Division II Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference. In 1996, in just their 3rd season of returning to play, the ThunderWolves advanced to the Division II College World Series. Through 2010, the restarted team has won 4 conference regular-season titles and 4 conference tournament titles.

Colorado State University-Pueblo

Department of Athletics

2200 Bonforte Blvd.

Pueblo, CO 81001



About the Author

Kurt Schrader has been writing professionally since 2005. He has also worked in the hospitality and travel industries for more than 10 years. Schrader holds a bachelor's degree in management, a master's degree in information studies and a Juris Doctor from Florida State University.

Related Articles

More Related